Belgium Cohabitation Visa – Step 3

Step 3 of my cohabitation process entailed applying for family reunification, and getting my annex 19ter paper.  All I knew going into the appointment was that I was applying for family reunification, and hopefully on route to get my “orange card” which would allow me to work as a Belgian national while waiting for my resident permit to come in.

This was step 3, and I knew it needed the most paperwork to accompany it.  For this appointment, I brought my signed cohabitation papers from my previous appointment, a proof of relationship document (which was a 25 page document that I made consisting of photos of us from Facebook, train tickets and messages sent between me and Milan that proved that we’ve seen each other at least 45 days within the last 2 years), proof of funds from Milan’s job that shows that he could technically support both of us, our registered rent agreement (needs to be registered with the local tax authority), proof of health insurance (which I did not have yet – I have 3 months to submit it), my passport, passport photos, proof of payment of 200 euros to the Belgian government and my search of marriage even though it was not necessary for this appointment.

The appointment went smoothly.  I brought my signed cohabitation papers, but she asked to see the proof that my cohabitation was registered.  I told her that I did not receive a proof that my cohabitation had been registered yet.  She said that normally I would have gotten something in the mail; the signing of the cohabitation papers does not automatically mean that it has been completed.  Luckily for me, she checked in the system and our cohabitation was registered already even though I never got anything in the mail saying so.  With the cohabitation registered with the government, we could continue the process.

I handed her over all of the documents above, although technically you have 3 months to submit all of those.  The only thing very necessary is your proof of payment to the Belgian government — they give you the details of the place you need to pay — and your registered cohabitation agreement.

I did not have health insurance yet as I was waiting to join Milan’s job benefit plan, but she told me it was no problem.  As soon as I got the health insurance, I would need to go back and hand it in to the city hall.  It did not affect me getting the family reunification process started or getting the orange card.

She scanned each of my documents and then issued me what I now know is called my annex 19ter.  It is a document registered with city hall and signed by both me and the lady who had helped me.  She told me everything was all set, and I had to wait for a police to come by the address I stated to be living at so that he could confirm that I do in fact reside there.  She said this would take up to 4 weeks.  The police came to check me ad 8pm the night after my appointment.

When the police came to check me, he checked my passport and also told me that I would be getting a letter within the next 4 weeks that told me what I needed to do next.  I just got that letter a few days ago – almost 2 weeks after the police had come to check me. The paper told me I needed to make an appointment to get my orange card set up (yay!!!).  I now have that appointment scheduled for this week.  Will keep you posted!

This was the easiest appointment and step I’ve had for this process but only because I was prepared in knowing what I needed to bring.  I wasn’t exactly sure what the entire process was about, because to me it makes more sense to show relationship proof before signing legal cohabitation, but for this it was the opposite.  All I knew is that I had almost everything necessary and since I paid the 200 euro fee, I was pretty much all set to become a citizen!  Lets see what happens with my orange card.

photo of the central station in belgium
Photo by Skitterphoto on Pexels.com

 

One thought on “Belgium Cohabitation Visa – Step 3

Leave a comment