Belgium Cohabitation Visa: Step 1

So I’m back in Leuven and completing my application to co-habitate legally with my Belgian boyfriend!  This gives me Belgian citizenship along with the ability to work very quickly.

fullsizeoutput_f4eIn my last post, I described how confusing it can be, but in the last few days I have gone through pretty much all of the steps.  I’ll fill you in in separate posts.

I’ve done all the sorting work (been to city hall about 8 times – only 3 of them actually served a purpose!) so consider the research done.  Here’s what you need to do.

The first step was for me to register myself as a tourist (aka – a stay of less than 3 months in Belgium) as is quite normal for most countries (I’m from Canada for reference).  The documents I brought with me included everything I already had in hand for this visa – my Search of Marriage document, legalized; my proof of relationship with Milan for up to 2 years; my passport; passport photos; proof of funds from Milan’s work; and my rent agreement.  I didn’t have to hand over any of these documents besides the passport.

When I arrived at City Hall in Leuven to do this procedure, I ran into a problem – I had already overstayed my tourist days, as I had already been in Belgium for 3 months between this Feb – May.  I technically wasn’t allowed to come back to Belgium till October.  Whoops.  Iceland let me through without even checking through my passport, so I made it here.  Unfortunately, this meant I couldn’t register as a tourist as I was meant to do.  I was reassured, however, that I would still be able to apply for cohabitation as I had meant to – I just wasn’t able to complete this first step.

When you do this, and when you do it successfully, you will be registered in the Belgian system and I think they will also give you a paper that states that you’ve registered.  For me, I didn’t get that paper, but they did add me in the system along with a note that stated that… I was illegal!  Sounds worse than it actually is, as they were all unphased by it.  The only thing that I needed to know about overstaying my tourist days was that I would not be allowed to leave Belgium for the next 6 months.  I’m unsure if this was due to my cohabitation visa being processed within that time, or due to my illegal status at the moment.  I was told later though that I would be allowed to travel in the Schengen zone by car, as long as long as there is not any passport control.

Anyway – my registration as a tourist was unsuccessful, but still got the thing that I needed to get, which was registration in the Belgian system.  I was told that the next step would be for me to make an appointment to sign cohabitation papers.  Milan, my boyfriend, would need to be present.

Let’s see what happens!

 

3 thoughts on “Belgium Cohabitation Visa: Step 1

  1. Hi my name is Sarah, I am currently trying to navigate the cohabitation visa process. It’s all so confusing, I’m feel totally lost. Did you end up having to go to Montreal even though you used International documents Canada? Also when you booked your first ticket did you have to buy a return ticket that went unused?
    Any help would be so appreciated

    Thanks in advance

    Like

    1. Hi Sarah! Sooooo sorry for this delayed response!

      I did not have to go to Montreal; I actually ended up using a service called International Documents Canada to officiate all of my paperwork. It was totally worth it for me.

      When I went to Belgium I only bought a one way ticket, because I had my paperwork which can be used as proof to say I was going to apply for a cohabitation visa. I flew through Iceland and I was never asked to show any paperwork at any point anyway! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment